SULLIVAN COUNTY, TENNESSEE ZONING RESOLUTION



Originally Adopted and Effective: September 1, 1988
Subsequent Updates Periodically
Comprehensive Restudy: October 21, 2003
Final Effective: January 1, 2004

Amendments:

August 15, 2005

October 17, 2005

September 17, 2007

January 22, 2008

May 19, 2008

July 21, 2008

February 17, 2009

May 18, 2009

September 21, 2009

March 15, 2010

May 17, 2010

November 15, 2010

May 16, 2011

December 19, 2011

May 20, 2013

February 18, 2014

November 20, 2017

October 15, 2018

February 20, 2020

May 21, 2020

January 20, 2022

April 21, 2022

May 19, 2022

June 21, 2022

October 20, 2022

February 16, 2023

March 16, 2023

August 10, 2023

November 9, 2023

January 11, 2024

March 14, 2024

December 12, 2024

Sullivan County Regional Planning Commission:

2004

James "Buddy" King, Commissioner Liaison
Harry Boggs, Chair Cathy
Mullins, Bristol PC rep.
Mike McIntire, Kingsport PC rep.
Jack Dutton, Vice Chair
Gordon Peterson, Executive Secretary
Roy Settle, Historic Zoning Commission member
Ken Bronner
Archie Pierce

2011

John Crawford, Commissioner Liaison Mark
Webb, Bristol PC rep.
Mike McIntire, Kingsport PC rep.
Stacy Ivester, Vice Chair
Gordon Peterson, Chair
Roy Settle, Historic Zoning Commission member
Gary Baker, Executive Secretary
Jack Dutton, past chair
James "Buddy" King, former County Commissioner

2013

John Crawford, Commissioner Liaison Mark
Webb, Bristol PC rep.
Dennis Ward, Kingsport PC rep.
Stacy Ivester, Vice Chair
Gordon Peterson, Chair
Mary Ann Hager, Historic Zoning Commissioner liaison
Gary Baker, Executive Secretary
Jerry Buchanan
Don Mumpower

2014

John Gardner, Commissioner Liaison Mark Webb, Bristol PC rep. Hoyt Denton, Kingsport PC rep. Stacy Ivester, Vice Chair Gordon Peterson, Chair Mary Ann Hager, Historic Zoning Commissioner liaison Gary Baker, Executive Secretary Jerry Buchanan Don Mumpower

<u>2013</u>

John Gardner, Commissioner Liaison Mark Webb, Bristol PC rep. John Moody, Kingsport PC rep. Linda Brittenham, Vice Chair Gordon Peterson, Chair Mary Ann Hager, Historic Zoning Commissioner liaison Kay Gott Jerry Buchanan Don Mumpower

2023-2024

Darlene Carlton, Commissioner Liaison Mark Webb, Bristol PC rep. and chair John Moody, Kingsport PC rep. Linda Brittenham, Vice Chair Laura McMillan Mary Ann Hager, Historic Zoning Commissioner liaison Calvin Clifton Mary Rouse,

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Article I	General Provisions	Page 1
Article II	Establishment of Districts	Page 4
Article III	Agricultural and Residential District Regulations	Page 7
Article IV	Commercial District Regulations	Page 26
Article V	Manufacturing District Regulations	Page 34
Article VI	Overlay District Regulations	Page 45
Article VII	Parking and Loading Regulations	Page 64
Article VIII	Operational Performance Standards, Stormwater Management Standards	Page 76
Article IX	Sign Regulations	Page 91
Article X	Telecommunication Facility Regulations	Page 99
Article XI	Provisions Governing Nonconforming Uses and Non-complying Buildings or Other Structures	Page 104
Article XII	Administration and Enforcement	Page 107

APPENDICES

Appendix A	Language and Definitions	A 2-17
Appendix B	Use Classification and Supplemental Regulations	B 18-54
Appendix C	Standard Lot Size, Building Illustrations, List of the	
	Zoning Abbreviations, Sign Setback Diagram	C 55-62
Appendix D	Supplemental Guidelines for Campgrounds	D 63-65
Appendix E	Driveway Connection Application Form	E 67-68
Appendix F	Illustrations of Parking Lot Designs (per Article V11)	F 69-74
Appendix G	Native Tree Recommendations and Planting Guidelines	G 75-79